We Learnt About Hitler at the Mickey Mouse Club (Paperback)

A Childhood on the Eve of War

Enid Elliott Linder

Share this book

Enid Elliot Linder was the daughter of a butler and a lady’s maid in service in some of England’s grandest country houses. 

Evoking the lost world of a childhood ‘below stairs’, Linder’s touching memoir describes how her life changed as Britain headed towards war.  
After the family moved to a Marylebone tenement, her father sought work in London restaurants whilst battling personal demons. Meanwhile Linder’s aunt was nanny to a high-ranking member of the British Union of Fascists as they grew in influence.  
In a photorealistic and immensely charming narrative reminiscent of Patrick Hamilton, Linder evokes the sights and smells of prewar London – and of lonely Cornwall, to where she was unhappily evacuated – in a way that will appeal to fans of Call The Midwife or Downton Abbey. A unique personal account of a tumultuous time.



Enid Elliott Linder, who died in 2007, was an artist specialising in silhouette drawings.
She left her memoir to her niece Elaine Cox, a lecturer at Oxford Brookes, who promised to assure its publication.


ABOUT THIS BOOK

about this book

ISBN: 9781785786099

Price: 7.99 GBP

Pages: 288

Publication date: 04/06/2020

Category: Biography & Memoir, History & Current Affairs

buy this book

OTHER FORMATS AVAILABLE

eBook