Here She Comes Now (Paperback)

Women in Music Who Have Changed Our Lives

Jeff Gordinier

Marc Weingarten

Share this book

Here She Comes Now brings together some of America’s best music writers – such as Susan Choi, recipient of the inaugural PEN / W.G. Sebald award, Daniel Walters, whose credits include the screenplay for Heathers, and Alina Simon, whose novel Note to Self was described as ‘hilarious’ by Amanda Palmer – to explore incredible women in popular music. 

Often wryly amusing – even occasionally heart-rending – and covering artists from Dolly Parton and Nina Simone to Bjork, Taylor Swift and Riot Grrrl pioneer Kathleen Hanna, this is a feisty celebration of the transformative power of musicians who have truly rocked our world. 

The full list of artists covered is: 

Dolly Parton, Taylor Swift, Sinéad O’Connor, Mary J. Blige, June Carter Cash, Björk, Ronnie Spector, Laurie Anderson, Judee Sill, Patti Smith, Nina Simone, Poly Styrene, Stevie Nicks, Kim Gordon, Kate Bush, P.J. Harvey, Loretta Lynn, Sandy Denny, Tina Turner, Kathleen Hanna, Liz Phair, Madonna and Miley Cyrus.

Edited by Jeff Gordinier – a staffer for The NY Times and writer for Esquire, GQ, Entertainment Weekly, Elle, the LA Times, Fortune, the NY Times Book Review and more – and Marc Weingarten, author of Station to Station, The Gang That Wouldn’t Write Straight, and Thirsty, as well as co-editor of Yes Is The Answer. He produced the 2011 documentary God Bless Ozzy Osbourne, The Other One: The Long Strange Trip of Bob Weir, and television’s The Bachelor and The Bachelorette

Thoughtful essays about iconic female musicians by talented womenBuzzFeed


about this book

ISBN: 9781785780608

Price: 14.99 GBP

Pages: 320

Publication date: 07/04/2016

Category: Popular Culture

buy this book