Mafia Son (Paperback)

The Scarpa Mob Family, the FBI and a Story of Betrayal

Sandra Harmon

Share this book

The Scarpas were a New York Mafia dynasty led by Greg Scarpa Sr., nicknamed 'The Grim Reaper' for his brutal addiction to violence and murder. But since the 1960s Scarpa had also been a Top Echelon Informant for the FBI.

Betrayed by the father he worshipped, his son Gregory Jr. still festers in Colorado's maximum security ADMAX prison, where his information of a plot that resulted in 9/11 was fatefully ignored by the authorities.

Granted unique inside access to Greg Jr. and to the FBI, Sandra Harmon pries open the dark heart of the Scarpa family and tells an unforgettable tale of violence, wealth, and sex, set in a world where a man's word is both everything and nothing.



Sandra Harmon is the author of several bestselling books, including ELVIS AND ME, which she coauthored with Priscilla Presley. In MAFIA SON, Harmon was granted intimate access to the principals of the book–access that eventually got her subpoenaed in the highly publicized Lindley DeVecchio trials.


A disturbing, jagged true-crime thriller worthy of prime Hammett, Chandler or Puzo'Publishers Weekly
A tense, penetrating psychological portrait of the Wiseguy who went right and paid the price. A true thriller in the tradition of Donnie Brasco and Goodfellas.'Robert Graysmith, author of Zodiac
A vivid and accurate account of one of the most notorious and ruthless families in the history of organized crime. Sandra Harmon has captured – the very essence of the Scarpa family in all its savage, corrupt, and murderous glory.'Michael Vecchione, Chief of the Rackets Division, Kings County DA's Office
A punchy account of a poisonous familial relationship'Daily Express

ABOUT THIS BOOK

about this book

ISBN: 9781848311275

Price: 8.99 GBP

Pages: 320

Publication date: 04/03/2010

Category: Biography & Memoir, History & Current Affairs

buy this book

OTHER FORMATS AVAILABLE

Paperback