Wholly Irresponsible Experiments (Paperback)

Sean Connolly

Share this book

Do try these at home! “Wholly Irresponsible Experiments” brings back the fun of being twelve. Scores of experiments take in a dazzling array of explosions, geysers, rockets and some outright oddities. The sparkling text includes ingredients, methods, outcomes, scientific explanations – and warnings – for each experiment. Charming illustrations recall the age of inspired amateurs. Amaze your friends with: a fire started with ice; a smoke bomb worthy of Harry Potter; a 5-metre-high cola fountain, perfect for turning enemies into a sticky mess; and a dramatic rocket – from a very ordinary film canister.And if you need any excuses, the exploding sandwich bag is, after all, demonstrating a neat chemical reaction. That bit of King Edward potato launched from a tube and ricocheting around the kitchen – simple: Boyle’s Law! Irresponsible – maybe. Cracking fun – definitely!



Sean Connolly, father of three and author of more than 50 books aimed at children and adults, is ideally placed to explain the nuts and bolts of these fantastic experiments. And as someone more at home with water balloons than bank statements, he’s only an occasional visitor to the ‘real world’.


“‘Hours of fun… a marvellous way to excite children about the wonders of science’ Sunday Express ‘In the gee-whiz spirit of The Dangerous Book for Boys’ Financial Times”

You might also like…

Wholly Irresponsible Exploits by Sean Connolly

A sequel to Sean Connolly’s “Wholly Irresponsible Experiments”, this title features awe-inspiring experiments demonstrating the magic of science. It is perfect for fans of “The Dangerous Book for Boys”. You are the scientist, your home is t… Read more »

More

Wholly Irresponsible Science by Sean Connolly

This book works like alchemy – it succeeds in making the ordinary extraordinary. It’s weird, wild, wacky… and utterly addictive. With its quirky experiments, eye-catching design and witty yet informative text, it’s the perfect hands-on in… Read more »

More

The Book of Potentially Catastrophic Science by Sean Connolly

Smashing Atoms! Making Gunpowder! Firing Rockets! Using Lasers! Raising the Dead! G-Forces, X-Rays, Black Holes, DNA and much more! Einstein, Galileo, Newton … and now YOU! PARACHUTE an egg from an upstairs window! DISTIL DNA from a half-… Read more »

More

ABOUT THIS BOOK

about this book

ISBN: 9781840468762

Price: 7.99 GBP 16.00 CAD 12.95 USD

Pages: 176

Publication date: 03/04/2008

Category: Popular Science

buy this book

OTHER FORMATS AVAILABLE

Hardback